International Advisory Network

TESS is supported by a regionally diverse International Advisory Network of senior and mid-career experts, participating in their personal capacities, drawn from international organisations, civil society and business stakeholder groups, academic centres, and research organisations.

The International Advisory Network is convened on-line quarterly to jointly scan the horizon for emerging strategic policy opportunities and challenges; provide input on where TESS can most add value; suggest relevant experts and stakeholders to engage; and exchange  information on policy developments and work in progress.

International Organisations

  • Aik Hoe Lim

    Director, Trade and Environment Division, World Trade Organization

  • Anja von Moltke

    Head, UNEP Environment and Trade Hub (UNEP)

  • Beatrice Chaytor

    Senior Expert – Trade in Services, African Union Commission

  • Brendan Vickers

    Adviser and Head, International Trade Policy, Commonwealth Secretariat

  • David Luke

    Head, Africa Trade Policy Centre, UN Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA)

  • David Vivas Eugui

    Legal Affairs Officer, Trade, Environment, Climate Change and Sustainable Development Division, UN Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)

  • Diana Rizzolio

    Coordinator, Geneva Environment Network (GEN)

  • Elisabeth Tuerk

    Director, Economic Cooperation & Trade, UN Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE)

  • Gael Grooby

    Deputy Director – Tariffs and Trade Affairs, World Customs Organisation (WCO)

  • Joseph Wozniak

    Head, Trade for Sustainable Development, International Trade Centre (ITC)

  • Malika Amélie Taoufiq-Cailliau

    Legal Officer, Executive Office, Secretariat of the Basel, Rotterdam and Stockholm Conventions

  • Nanno Mulder

    Chief, International Trade Unit, International Trade and Integration Division, UN Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (UNECLAC)

  • Nilgün Tas

    Deputy Director, Department of Environment and Chief, Industrial Resource Efficiency Division, UNIDO

  • Pierre Sauvé

    Senior Trade Specialist, World Bank

  • Santiago Fernandez de Cordoba

    Coordinator, UN Forum on Sustainability Standards (UNFSSS)

  • Shunta Yamaguchi

    Policy Analyst, Environment Directorate, OECD

  • Sofie Flensborg

    Legal Advisor, Secretariat Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species

  • Yann Duval

    Acting Director, Trade, Investment, and Innovation Division, United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (UNESCAP)

Stakeholders and Experts

  • Aaron Cosby

    Principal and Director, Small World Sustainability Consulting

  • Alice Tipping

    Co-lead, Sustainable Trade, International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD)

  • Ana Toni

    Executive Director, Instituto Clima e Sociedade (iCS), Brazil

  • Angela Francis

    Chief Advisor, Economics and Economic Development, WWF-UK

  • Åsa Persson

    Research Director and Deputy Director, Stockholm Environment Institute (SEI)

  • Bernard Hoekman

    Director, Global Economics, Global Governance Programme, European University Institute (EUI)

  • Clara Brandi

    Head of the Research Programme ‘Transformations of Economic and Social Systems’, German Development Institute (DIE), Germany

  • Céline Charveriat

    Executive Director, Institute for European Environmental Policy (IEEP)

  • Cheikh Tidiane Dieye

    Executive Director, African Centre for Trade, Integration and Development (CACID), Senegal (invited)

  • Crispin Conroy

    Geneva Representative, International Chamber of Commerce (ICC)

  • Daniel Esty

    Director, Yale Centre for Environment Law and Policy, USA

  • David Waskow

    Director, Climate Initiative, World Resources Institute (WRI)

  • Dmitry Grozoubinski

    Executive Director, Geneva Trade Platform, Switzerland

  • Dominic Coppens

    Senior Associate, Sidley Austin LLP

  • Emily Jones

    Director, Global Economic Governance Programme, Oxford University

  • Fahmida Khatun

    Executive Director, Centre for Policy Dialogue (CPD), Bangladesh

  • Geneviève Pons

    Director General and Vice President, Europe Jaques Delors, France

  • Hannes Schloemann

    Director, WTI Advisors, and Partner, MSBH Rechtsanwälte

  • Harro van Asselt

    Professor, Climate Law and Policy, University of Eastern Finland

  • Henry Gao

    Associate Professor, Singapore Management University, Singapore

  • Henry Huiyao Wang

    Founder and President, Centre for China and Globalization, China

  • James Bacchus

    Professor of Global Affairs, and Director of the Center for Global Economic and Environmental Opportunity, University of Central Florida

  • Jan Yves Remy

    Deputy Director, Shridath Ramphal Centre for International Trade Law, Policy and Services, University of West Indies

  • Jean-Frédéric Morin

    Professor at the Political Science Department, Laval University 

  • Jodie Keane

    Senior Research Fellow, Overseas Development Institute (ODI), UK

  • Joss Blériot

    Head of Institutions & Government, Ellen Macarthur Fund (EMF)

  • Kasturi Das

    Professor of Economics, Institute of Management Technology, India

  • Katrin Kuhlmann

    President & Founder, New Markets Lab; Visiting Professor, Georgetown University Law School

  • Keith Nurse

    Principal/President, Sir Arthur Lewis Community College

  • Kevin Gallagher

    Director, Global Development Policy Centre, Boston University

  • Kimberley Botwright

    Trade and Investment Lead, World Economic Forum (WEF)

  • Laurence Boisson de Chazournes

    Professor, Faculty of Law , University of Geneva, Switzerland

  • Malena Sell

    Leading Specialist, Circular Economy, The Finnish Innovation Fund Sitra

  • Markus Gehring

    University Lecturer, Faculty of Law, University of Cambridge

  • Neil Burgess

    Chief Scientist, UNEP-WCMC & Director, Trade, Development and Environment Hub, UK

  • Patrick Low

    Fellow, Asia Global Institute, Hong Kong and former WTO Chief Economist

  • Peter Draper

    Institute of International Trade, University of Adelaide, Australia

  • Puspa Sharma

    Independent Consultant, Nepal

  • Rashid Kaukab

    Executive Director, CUTS International Geneva

  • Rob Howse

    Professor, NYU School of Law, USA

  • Ronald Steenblik

    Senior Fellow, International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD)

  • San Bilal

    Head of Programme, Trade,  Investment and Finance, European Centre for Development Policy Management (ECDPM)

  • Sandra Rios

    Director, Center for Integration and Development Studies (CINDES), Brazil

  • Sophia Murphy

    Executive Director, Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy (IATP)

  • Susanne Dröge

    Senior Fellow, German Institute for International and Security Affairs (SWP)

  • Trudi Hartzenberg

    Executive Director, Trade Law Centre for Southern Africa (TRALAC)

  • Tsotetsi Makong

    Trade Law Expert, Trade Policy Training Centre in Africa , Tanzania

  • Veena Jha

    CEO, Ikdhvaj Advisers LLP, India

Stay informed